Help & Support

newcomer
_nick

The SIM card installed in this iPhone is from a carrier that is not supported

I aquired a new iPhone 5 from my girlfriends father yesterday & today I cut down my Giff Gaff Micro Sim to a Nano Sim that I've been using in my Galaxy S2 for a few months now.

I followed a template that I printed online & cut the Micro Sim to a Nano with precision, it's exactly the same dimensions as the real thing. I did not touch any of the copper contacts whilst doing it.

When I insert the sim card I get the message 'Activation Required' followed by a lengthy message:

The SIM card that you currently have installed in this iPhone is from a carrier that is not supported under the activation policy that is currently assigned by the activation server. This is not a hardware issue with the iPhone. Please insert another SIM card from a supported carrier or request that this iPhone be unlocked by your carrier. Please contact Apple for more information

I was under the impression any O2 locked phone could be used with a Giff Gaff sim card? What's the dealio here

dannymorgan6783
Topics: 9
Kudos: 48
Best Answers: 10

Re: The SIM card installed in this iPhone is from a carrier that is not supported

[ Edited ]
Hi there,

You will need to order a Nano SimCard from "Spread giffgaff", on your main page. :smileyhappy:
enigma
macca28

Re: The SIM card installed in this iPhone is from a carrier that is not supported

newcomer
_nick

I have done so already, but being the impatient and confident individual I am I decided to cut my Micro Sim down myself.

I used a template provided online & had an O2 Nano Sim for reference. They match up 99%

Is this message a result of me bodging my sim, or do I need to get the phone unlocked?

dannymorgan6783

You will need to activate the simcard by toping it up with £10.

Good luck!
dannymorgan6783

I am extremely sorry!