@ip633 you raise good points. As Alex mentioned the permission to edit seems to be linked with the permission to soft delete in the code. The team has tried to separate the two but unfortunately they will not be able to finish the work in time as it seems to be quite an unexpected large piece of coding- so in order to still migrate on the 27th, we had to thing about either removing both, which will remove the ability to edit a post or giving folks the ability to soft delete for a little while. With all of that in mind we should to trial it and see how members react and use it.
We will be working on separating the two permissions in the background and we will have it ready as soon as possible so a change to remove that option will definitely be possible the very near future. But at the same time, we do sometimes get reports of members posting something in error that they later report and ask us to remove. So while we work on the separation of the two permissions we thought it would be a good thing to see if this type of feature would be beneficial or not.
Once we have this built, it will be down to all of us to decide its future. Also, just as a reminder, the community staff can still see the post, so nothing is lost. So it would be great if we could all keep an eye on how members use it and share feedback on it.