Knowledge Base
Community

Member name change - trial

Started by: shivanshuit914
On: 24/01/2018 | 13:15
Replies: 125

by: nmpretzel
on: 23/07/2019 | 19:35
I'd love to be able to change my member name. For some reason I've now forgotten, I had to rejoin, so my original member name wasn't available, for obvious reasons, but this is the only account I use just my initials and surname. I'd much prefer either to go back to my name and surname or an alias, given the choice. I've finally settled on an alias that, so far, has never been taken on any sites I've tried it on. I'm a drummer and tinkered with variations of Stygian (meaning concerning the river Styx or dark), or Charon (the boatman who ferried the dead across the Styx), but these were usually taken, so I eventually opted for another pun: Saint Nine. Saint is often abbreviated to St and nine in roman numerals is ix, giving Stix (groan). I quite like Saint Nine, but that's all beside the point. Well done for implementing this and I would be very happy if you implemented the ability to change user name at any point. Thanks
Message 121 of 126
by: harrrrrry
on: 24/07/2019 | 10:38

@shivanshuit914 

If the "problem" with your previous account was only that you did not use it for 6 months ... then I'm sure others have found that it's possible to revive such an account by activating a new sim on the account. However, if giffgaff has intentionally closed your account that may not be possible.

So, first, check to see if you can still log in to the old account. You may need to do a lost password reset if you don't remember the password you last used on the account, in which case:

• go to https://giffgaff.com/support/lost-password which should be possible provided you have access to the email address that you used to set up the account
  • choose the option to be notified by email and enter the username you want to check
  • use the link to reset the password

If you can now long in to the old account: