Community

Mobile Number Information Issue [25/01/12] [Resolved]

Started by: craig_t
On: 25/01/2012 | 12:26
Replies: 295

by: cbh1948
on: 25/01/2012 | 12:45

@hc_1540 wrote:

And by the way, this is an O2 issue and should always be referred to as such. While gg uses the O2 network, it has no responsibility for the pieces of kit that are causing this to happen.

Are you absolutely sure about that?  I understand that the problem ultimately rests with o2; however, as I've mentioned in previous posts, I very much doubt that giffgaff can contract out of its obligations to us under the Data Protection Act.  They would have to take reasonable steps to show that they had reason to believe that our information was being protected.  Of course, o2 will inturn be liable to giffgaff.*

* I'm not a lawyer (although do have a legal background) and do not have any firm knowledge of the DPA.  However, from some of the links I have posted it does look as though giffgaff are responsible to its customers.

Get a free Giffgaff Sim
Message 89 of 296
by: oldyorkie
on: 25/01/2012 | 12:47

Update on Sky News 30mins ago ....

Data protection watchdog, the Information Commissioner's Office said in a statement: "When people visit a website via their mobile phone they would not expect their number to be made available to that website.

"We will now speak to O2 to remind them of their data breach notification obligations, and to better understand what has happened, before we decide how to proceed."

We watch and wait ... but ultimately 02 to blame and not gg until can be proved otherwise...

I'm not too concerned ...yet...

To Read is To Learn - go on - give it a try Smiley Wink
Teamwork is essential - it gives the enemy someone else to shoot at Smiley TongueGet a free giffgaff Simsignature 1.jpg
Message 91 of 296
by: kurik
on: 25/01/2012 | 12:49
Thanks Craig. Please could you keep us updated on this very important matter. I'm very uncomfortable about this.
Message 94 of 296
by: cgimusic