Knowledge Base
Community

Number transfer

Started by: charlottehaughtey1
On: 11/01/2014 | 22:20
Replies: 8

by: charlottehaughtey1
on: 11/01/2014 | 22:20
I'm new to giffgaff and I had my old phone number transferred to a giffgaff sim only to find it had not gone through properly and I was having difficulty receiving calls and text messages and I couldn't activate iMessage, I've just put another giffgaff SIM card in my phone and everything is fine. I brought a £20 goody bag and it wasn't due to expire until the 21st January and I have only just started to use it due to problems I've been having, I've also had to register another SIM card and put another £20 good bag on to it. Is there anything I can do about it or have I just simply lost my money?
Message 1 of 9
by: natty88
on: 11/01/2014 | 22:21
You could try askin an agent but doubtfull if will do anything but worth a shot
Get a free giffgaff Sim
Message 2 of 9
by: as7861
on: 11/01/2014 | 22:22

it takes upto 24 hours for activating the sim. 

Have a look at this guide-

http://community.giffgaff.com/t5/Getting-started/Activating-your-new-SIM/ta-p/3521635

- Amer Get a free giffgaff Sim
Message 3 of 9
by: anjum7886
on: 11/01/2014 | 22:25
Aaassskk a agent:-)
Message 4 of 9
by: bruno00
on: 11/01/2014 | 22:56
It's likely it's a faulty activation

Do this check

Take your sim out of the phone and take note of the sim serial number on the back of the sim
Http://j.mp/activate_sim
Put the first 19 digits from the back of the sim in the box provided
( NOT the 6 digit activation code)
And click continue

It'll either say the sim is already active ,
Or
SIM Replacement
You cannot have two active SIMs. Activating a new SIM will deactivate your current SIM.

If it says the latter, you know the activation is faulty, what you should do now is carry on with the sim swap/replacement proccess

Click where it says...

"Yes I want to replace my SIM"
( on mobile browsers don't forget to scroll down to see)