Definitive Guide to Customising Android

Started by: ant59
On: 22/07/2013 | 11:52
Replies: 45

Highlighted
by: ant59
on: 22/07/2013 | 11:52 edited: 05/11/2013 | 09:58

This thread has a shortlink for use on the help forum - http://bit.ly/ggcustom

If you have any questions about the customising Android, reply to this thread and I'll make sure to reply ASAP! I have email notifications on, so I should be quick Smiley Happy

Having seen the recent blog post on customising the Android homescreen, I thought I'd go a bit further with it and write a full guide for customising Android. I'll be adding more to this guide as I go and I shall flesh it out as and when I have spare time to do so. I've been tinkering with Android phones for over two years now and I know most of the ins and outs of the system, and the most popular options for customisation. I hope this helps people who want to make the most of their device.

I know that the length of the guide and the prospect of being able to change every aspect of your phone might seem like a daunting idea, but trust me, stay with the guide as you go and it will keep you in the right direction. It gets more difficult as the sections progress, but reading the early sections will set you up with all the knowledge needed to get through even the most advanced later sections. Most of all though, have fun with this guide!

This guide is designed for Android Jellybean (4.1+) but most parts will work for all Android versions still in use, though there may be some major features missing in Gingerbread (2.3) or lower.

I will cover as much as I can possibly think of in this post. If you can think of anything else which I may have missed, please reply and let me know! I will add it to the todo list.

Also, be sure to subscribe to this thread if you're interested! Every update I make, I will post a changelog to the thread.

Planned to do:

• Lockscreen
  • Icons
  • Launchers (most specifically Nova)
  • Ringtone and sounds
  • Keyboards